The Warrior Beat

Spring game: Choosing sides

April 24th, 2013


There was a lot to digest entering last night's draft for the Warrior spring game.

"Commissioner" Norm Chow had ordered so much food from Ige's that the start of the draft was delayed by an hour. The jan-ken-po method  (rock, paper, scissors) was used for pick selections. A confidentiality agreement prohibits revealing who won the most, uh, hands. But Lewis Powell, who is head coach of the Black team, credited "Jedi mind tricks" for each of his successes.

The Spring Fling begins Thursday at 4:30 p.m. The quarters will be 15 minutes running time each. If a team trails by 21 or more points, the old Hula Bowl make-take scoring rule applies. Each team is allowed two "special" plays that are not in the Warriors' playbook.

Here are the teams:


Head coach: Lewis Powell.

Assistants: Aaron Price, Daronte' Jones, Chris Weisehan, Lance Samuseva, Ed Taamu.

Quarterbacks: Ikaika Woolsey, Jeremy Higgins.

Running backs: Marcus Langkilde, Jason Muraoka.

Receivers: Duke Bukoski, Chris Gant, Sam Lee, Bubba Poueu-Luna.

Tight ends/H-backs: Clark Evans, Harold Moleni, Craig Cofer.

Offensive line: Ben Clarke, Mike Milovale, Kiha Sai, Kody Afusia, Frank Loyd, Tyler Brown.

Defensive line: Penitito Faalologo, Calen Friel, Marcus Malepeai, Niko Uti.

Linebackers: Brenden Daley, TJ Taimatuia, Lance Williams, Kawehi Sablan.

Defensive backs: Anthony Pierce, Dee Maggit, John Hardy-Tuliau, Kawika Borden, Mike Martin, Josh Gist, Dante Johnson, Keahi Hogan.

Kicker: Ceejay Santos.


Head coach: Chris Naeole

Assistants: Thom Kaumeyer, Tony Tuioti, Jordan Wynn, Phil Rauscher, Jared Vanderbeek.

Quarterbacks: Taylor Graham, Justin Alo.

Running backs: Justin Lopez, Steven Lakalaka.

Receivers: Billy Ray Stutzmann, Trevor Davis, Donnie King, Cecil Doe, Elijah Langley.

Tight ends/H-backs: Josh Long, Justin Velen, Craig Cofer.

Offensive line: Brenden Urban, Dave Lefotu, Sean Shigematsu, Ben Dew, David Griffin, Tyler Brown.

Defensive line: Hiram Thomson, Mike Andrade, Ikaika Cavaco-Amoy, George Daily-Lyles.

Linebackers: Kamalani Alo, Jerrol Garcia-Williams, Julian Gener, Benny Fonua, Jonathan Makaiau.

Defensive backs: Tony Grimes, Ne'Quan Phillips, Charles Clay, Marrell Jackson, Ryan Pasoquen, Brian Clay, Chaz Bajet, Josh Donovan, Damien Packer.

Kicker: Tyler Yamanouchi




• Tyler Brown and Craig Cofer will play for both teams.

• As a bonus, Cofer might be allowed to play as a defensive end, too.

• Joey Iosefa will not play.

Comments are closed.